Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Top 5 Corey Feldman performances!!!

Top 5 Feldman performances!!!

To close up our second Feldman/Haim themed week this year (I'm sure there will be a third this summer!) I decided to say YOLO and after paying tribute to Mr. Haim on my top five favorite performances by the late 80's icon, I wanted to give the other Corey some love and highlight my favorite five roles his very colorful and unique actor has played.

Oh Feldman, what is there to say? Much like Haim, I grew up watching Corey in countless films (The top two that were constantly playing in my house was The Goonies and The Lost Boys.) It wasn't until roughly the 6th grade that I developed a massive crush on Feldman and truly couldn't get enough of him. I'm telling you, I feel I should have been born in 78 instead of 88. Everyone who knew me back then knew how crazy I was about his movies. I was such a fan that my mother and sister even ordered Dream A Little Dream 1 & 2 for me on VHS and my mother even tried to track down the leather studded jacket he rocks on the original's cover. I bought the soundtrack to the first movie and constantly blasted it, and in 2008 was lucky enough to meet both him and Haim at a horror convention

I met Corey a second time this past summer. I'm sure anyone who isn't hiding underneath a rock knows about Corey's music career which has been making headlines and raising eyebrows. He's released several albums, and most recently have been performing with his "angels" Well he went on tour this year, and after witnessing his epic music video Millennium Ascension, and my sister, her husband, and myself decided to get really drunk and watch him perform at this little hole in the wall bar (which had no business even hosting the show since it was so small) Words can't truly capture what this experience was like. It was truly something else. 

Still, I'll give Corey credit where credit is due. He's quite the performer and his angels are more than girls with fake wings and white bras and panties...they can actually play really good music. In fact Corey's recent wife (his head angel Courtney) performed a cover of The Goonies song and actually did a really good job. It may have been the beers talking, but I enjoyed myself. At the end of the show fans were able to meet Feldman. I was pretty buzzed by then so when I approached him I yelled "THE ORIGINAL TOMMY JARVIS!" Corey nervously smiled, hugged me, and took a photo before signing my Camp Crystal Lake Memories blu-ray. Hey, this was my second time meeting the man. I didn't give a fucccccck! Any-who, Corey will and always be a fascinating character and believe it or not, as much as I laugh and shake my head at some of the stuff he says and does, I gained major respect for him after reading his book and witnessing A Tale Of Two Coreys. Like I said with Haim's post, for all we know this is just a way to cash in and make money. There are always three sides to the truth and I did roll my eyes a few times durning the Lifetime movie as clearly it was trying to paint him in a better light. Still, after reading his book my heart broke finding out about the abusive he suffered by his mother, and I give him major respect for keeping his son out of the spotlight. Good for you Corey. 

A Tale Of Two Coreys

So in honor of this 80's teen icon, here are my top five favorite performances by Mr. Feldman.

5) Bobby - Dream A Little Dream
- Ah the movie I was obsessed with as a pre-teen. This was Haim and Feldman's third movie durning the 1980's, and Feldman's first starring role. Sadly as I've stated in past posts, Dream A Little Dream was very misunderstood. It was supposed to be a mature art house movie, and instead seemed to be trying to be a teen comedy/romance. It has a very confusing plot, but seriously oozes the 1980's between the fashion and killer soundtrack. Bobby plays a troubled teen who's in love with his friend's girlfriend. It isn't until the soul of an old man who was trying to find the secret to youth gets trapped in Bobby's body. Here he tries to fix Bobby's life, and get the girl before he loses his wife who's soul halfway transferred into the young girl Bobby has fallen in love with (Um, okay?!) Anyways, this is a fun movie you shouldn't take too seriously. We get Feldman's MJ dance moves, his questionable fashion, and him really trying to give it his all carrying this film as a lead. Could it have been better? 100% Still, I find it charming, and still crank the soundtrack to this day. Nothing beats Feldman and his female co-star trying to do the experiment to swap back souls with the Rock On cover blasting. Total nerd chills!

4) Ricky - The Burbs
- "We got the pizza dude coming!" I rediscovered my love for The Burbs recently, and it's in my top twenty favorite movies of all time. Seriously, this movie is a riot. Returning with Gremlins' director Joe Dante, Feldman appears as teenage neighbor Ricky in this beyond awesome cast (Hanks, Dern, Fisher, ect) Feldman cracks me up in this role (him jumping on the police cruiser's hood, or dumping the paint buckets all over the speakers.) It's a fun little role, which sadly was one of Feldman's last big studio films due to his "habits" at the time. Still, such a fun watch!

3) Mouth - The Goonies 
- "Jerk alert!" This film wins my vote for the film that I always think of whenever I look back on my childhood. This movie holds a special place in my heart simply because it was one of my mother's favorites, and one of the best feel good movies of the 1980's. Feldman plays Mouth, the smart-ass who can't seem to keep his trap shut, and is responsible for some of the film's funniest moments. I loved his cool breeze attitude, and constant hassling to his friend Chunk. I legit die whenever he tells Chunk about having naked photos of his mom and is selling them...real cheap! Seriously such a riot. Feldman steals the show in every scene he's in (the pearls and gems in his mouth, thinking Martin Sheen is on a penny, or translating to the Spanish maid.) This will forever and always be one of Feldman's more iconic roles and what's even cooler is countless younger generations will be introduced to this movie over the years!

2) Edgar Frog - The Lost Boys 
- Feldman was at the top of his game in 1987. Having just appeared in Stand By Me, he held lots of promise for a very successful career. Appearing as one of the Frog brothers in the sexy sleek teen vampire flick The Lost Boys, Feldman's performance is legendary! Speaking in a deep over the top voice, he's the other half to Allen Frog, who works for his parent's comic book store. Here the two brothers meet Haim's character (which would be the first movie both Haim and him would appear in together) and give him advice that this coastal fun seaside town is actually crawling with blood sucking vampires. Seeing Feldman in this kind of role is a riot. His deadpan delivery, Rambo like wardrobe, and classic one liners are amazing. The Lost Boys was a huge favorite of mine growing up, and this is probably one of Feldman's more popular movies. Sadly I never liked the sequels that followed. Still, insane to think this movie is 31 years old! Yikes!

1) Tommy Jarvis - Friday the 13th The Final Chapter/A New Beginning
- I absolutely love the tagline for one of the Friday the 13th films. "Tommy Jarvis did something others died trying to do. He killed Jason Voorhees." Completely iconic. Feldman was the "ORIGINAL" as I like to drunkly shout Tommy Jarvis, a popular character played by different actors over the years in the camp slasher series. In 1984 it was originally planned to end the successful film series by killing off the series' villain Jason. With clever marketing, they decided to release it on April 13, and announce that it was officially Jason's unlucky day. With a great cast, stellar effects, and one hell of an ending, The Final Chapter had Jason finally meet his match. Not by a final girl (Alice, Ginny, Chris, and Trish) but he meets his end by the hands of a small 12 year old boy. Yes, that's right, Jason is down for the count (for the first time even being absent for the following sequel) by actually being killed off by a pre-teen. Corey plays Tommy Jarvis, a young nerdy looking boy who's fascinated by monsters and horror movies, and has a great talent by making monster masks and special effects. All horror fans could relate to Tommy, and after witnessing Jason go on a rampage, he doesn't abandoned his older sister Trish. Instead, he uses his brains by using an old newspaper clipping and transforms himself into what Jason originaly looked like as a child. Using the same mind-fuck games as Ginny did in part 2, this gives Trish the chance to fight back against his unstoppable killer, and even does the smart thing by hacking Jason multiple times when the killer is down for the count. The film was left on a cliffhanger, making audiences believe that perhaps the films would continue, only this time with Tommy as the new killer after his mind snapping following the fateful night. Well as fate would have it, Feldman was busy shooting The Goonies and was unable to return for part 5 so that whole storyline was tossed aside. He did return for a brief cameo which makes part 5 have one of the strongest openings in the entire series! Feldman has always stated his regret for not returning for more of these movies (I feel he could have returned in the late 80's) but embraces his horror fans, and even narrated the Camp Crystal Lake Memories doc. This of course will forever bring a huge smile to my face. Way to go Feldman! God, what I would have done to see them show the set to these movies in A Tale Of Two Coreys!

3 cheers for Feldman!!!

Sunday, March 11, 2018

Top five Corey Haim performances!!!

Top five Corey Haim performances!!!
 Yesterday marked the 8th year since Corey Haim tragically and suddenly passed away. I myself remember exactly where I was when I first learned the news. I was away at school in PA, and that day I had sculpting class. I wore my Corey Feldman Vs. Corey Haim shirt that I originally bought at Cherry Hill NJ back in 2008 for the Lost Boys' reunion show being held at a popular convention venue. At the time everyone was watching the train wreck unfold otherwise known as The Two Coreys reality TV show that was currently in it's second season that displayed 80's teen stars Haim and Feldman living together with Feldman's wife, trying to find a comeback as well as battling an on doing feud that had been boiling since the 1990's.  The "staged" TV show that aired on A&E showed Haim having supposedly cleaned up his act and was moving in with Feldman and his wife Suzie to make a series of public appearances to promote the 20th anniversary of The Lost Boys, as well as try to repair the many broken bridges he left behind when his career took a nosedive in the 90's thanks to his battling addiction problems. The first season was light-hearted fun, but blew up in the last episode when both Coreys went at it when tensions were at an all time high. In the second season, shot more gritty and realistic, it followed both Corey's who were in very different places in their lives who were still at each other's throats, and were trying to repair a friendship that truly might have been past the point of saving. Before it was officially announced at the second season was canceled (I for one don't understand why, I found this stuff pretty interesting even though it appeared at the last episode that aired both Coreys couldn't even stand to be in the same room as each other) I could have seen it at least going on for another season or so. Tragically due to low ratings as well as Haim's behavior, the show ended, which left people all around the world wondering what was going to happen next? This was the same summer the AWFUL straight to video Lost Boys sequel got made, which showed in the reality show Haim unable to film a cameo due to being so drugged up. When I attended that convention I know for a fact both Feldman and Haim weren't speaking. Both were sitting in separate rooms, and I heard Haim even tore up a photo a fan brought that showed Feldman and his wife Suzie (This I wasn't ever able to confirm, but it really seemed unlike Haim) I met both Coreys, and even though Feldman was a childhood crush, I really have to say meeting Haim was the highlight of the weekend. 

I've told this story before, but basically I waited in line 6 HOURS to meet Feldman in the hot August sun. Thankfully I met some really cool people in line who made the wait not so awful. When we got upstairs after what seemed like forever, Corey kept taking breaks. When he finally did show up, his massive bodyguard informed everyone that Corey was going to keep his sunglasses on since the flash hurt his eyes, and that he personalized everything (This was a bummer since I brought my Camp Crystal Lake memories book for him to sign) Still, I didn't care. I understand the whole sunglasses thing (even though I do roll my eyes over it, but hey after getting a flash going off over and over in your face I'm sure it does start hurting.) But the personalized thing really bugged me. Corey's reasoning behind this. Simple, he stated he doesn't want anyone making money off his name. (...) So I met him and his wife. Corey was nice enough, signed my book and Lost Boys T-shirt. Him and his wife did take the time to make sure my autograph came out nice on my shirt, and seemed friendly enough, but it was Haim who blew me away. I raced downstairs with the same people I waited with for Feldman and only sat outside for a half an hour. Haim was originally going to go to lunch when he spotted about 30 of us outside waiting. I heard from the staff he said lunch could wait, he was here to meet the fans and let us in.  Corey was in the same room as Robert Englund which was hilarious since he kept using his Freddy voice, making Corey crack up and laugh. 

Haim was lovely. I thanked him and told him how much this meant to me since his movies were such a big part of my childhood. He smiled, looked me in the eye and said "That means a lot darling, thank-you." He said he liked my star tattoo on my hand, took his time signing two autographs for me (an 8X10 of himself from The Lost Boys and my shirt.) He insisted they take took photos since the flash didn't go off the first time, and gave me a hug. Seriously the nicest guy ever. I would see Haim later that evening when I watched G Tom Mac perform "Cry Little Sister". Haim was there and surrounded by his co-stars and really seemed to be getting emotional hearing the song play before and audience. I would meet Haim that following October with my late mother. 

He did not look good.

He didn't look healthy and seemed to skinny. He was very friendly (it meant to world meeting him with my mother since she was the person responsible for showing me The Lost Boys) but even my mother noticed how out of it he appeared. Still, a complete gentlemen, but as we walked away my mother whispered to me "That poor thing, he'll be dead within a year." What breaks my heart is my mother was right. That winter I lost my mother, and the following year Haim passed. I still remember wearing that Feldman Vs Haim shirt and hearing the news that Haim had died. The fact I had that shirt on still creeps me out to this day. 

Corey had some serious issues he was dealing with. News came forward that he had been raped and molested on the set of one of his earlier films, as well as taken advantage by other powerful men in Hollywood throughout his career. He briefly touched upon this to Feldman on his show, but died before he could properly tell his story. I have heard rumors of who his attacker was, and in all honestly it turns my stomach. Feldman and Haim I guess made amends shortly before he passed, and since then Feldman has been dancing around the truth of who this attacker was. (Between a book, Lifetime movie, and now what's expected to be a feature length film.) I truly don't know where Feldman's intensions are. I would like to hope he's trying to bring justice to his friend instead of making a quick buck. All I do know is hopefully the people responsible for this will be properly pointed out and Haim even in death will have justice. It truly is without being sappy such a heartbreaking story since Haim seemed to hold so much promise. Instead a series of events led to his self-destructive behavior, which ended up having Haim dead before the age of forty. 

So to honor Mr. Haim, I decided to narrow down my personal favorite five performances by Corey!

5) Dream A Little Dream - Dinger
- One of my favorite Corey films. Is it a great movie? No, not really. Still, it's a fun 80's movie with some killer fashion and a great soundtrack. Corey was a bit of an add-on in this movie with Feldman as the starring role. Haim at the time was at the height of his addiction problems, and after an accident resulted in a broken leg, he was tacked on playing Dinger. Corey's role isn't huge in this movie, but he steals the show in every scene he appears in. My favorite is him talking to himself inside Joel's car. Classic.

4) Lucas - Lucas 
- This was Haim's breakout performance. It almost didn't make the list due to the rumors of what happened on set. Still, it doesn't take away from how well Haim was in this film. His first official starring role, told the classic underdog story. This is a wonderful mid 80's movie about true love, heartbreak, and beating the odds. It also features an epic 1980's slow clap.

3) Les - License To Drive
- I LOVE this movie. Whenever I need a good 1980's feel good comedy I either go with this movie or Summer School. This was Haim and Feldman's next project after The Lost Boys. It's a zany movie about Les (Haim) who sadly fails his driver's test and gets grounded the same weekend he's supposed to take one of the most beautiful girls in school out. Deciding to say YOLO he sneaks out his grandfather's precious Caddy, and goes on quite the adventure where everything that could goes wrong...does! This is a silly film that kills me every time. My favorite has to be Haim taking his driver's test "You spill the coffee..you fail!"

2) Sam - The Lost Boys
- Haim's most popular and well loved movie. The Lost Boys was 1 of the best vampire movies made durning the 1980's. (I feel the holy trifecta is Fright Night, Near Dark, and then this.) This was when vampires were coming out of the Hammer era, and were given the chance to be sexy and mysterious. The Lost Boys along with movies like The Goonies and The Monster Squad, were staples to watch constantly in my house growing up. Haim plays Sam, the lead character Michael's younger brother. He provides the audience with comic relief, as well as teaming up with the Frog Brothers (This would be his first film with Feldman that skyrocketed them into stardom) to try and find and kill the head vampire before it's too late. This film is filled with tons of memorable moments and lines, but my favorite has to be Haim's colorful bathrobe as well as his Rob Lowe poster hanging in his bedroom. 

1) Marty - Silver Bullet    
- This movie ranks number one simply because this was Haim at the beginning of his career. It wasn't his first film, but a film that displayed the true talent he possessed. Based off the short story "Cycle Of The Werewolf" by Stephen King, Haim plays Marty, a young twelve year old boy who's handicapped to a wheelchair. In the small town where Marty lives, once a month grizzly attacks have been killing locals, in which the police believe is either a wild animal, or a crazed psycho. One night when Marty sneaks out to let off some fireworks, he's nearly killed by a giant wolf. Thanks to some quick thinking, Marty fires a rocket into the animal's eye and speeds away on his wheelchair/motorbike his uncle built for him. Clearly shaken, he seeks aid to the very same uncle and his older sister, telling them he believes it's a werewolf committing these crimes, and all they need to do is look for somebody in town who now only has one eye.

So in closing, rest in power Corey. Taken way too soon. I really wish you could have had the comeback you deserved. Still, he'll live on forever in his films, and still remain being known as a nice funny guy. Thanks Corey for the memories!

Friday, March 9, 2018

The Lost Boys drinking game!!!

 The Lost Boys drinking game!!!

Is it in poor taste to do a drinking game based off the two Coreys? Hey, I say YOLO. To honor these tubular teen titans of the 1980's, here's a pretty awesome drinking game you can play while watching one of Feldman and Haim's more iconic movies.

I bring you the ultimate Lost Boys drinking game. Get ready to party like it's 1987!

Drink when...
Somebody says the name Michael. (get ready to puke) 
Somebody says the word vampire.
A new song is heard.
A dog barks.
Someone is seen eating. 
An amusement park ride is shown.
The name Max is said. 

Take a shot when...
Cry Little Sister is heard. 
A vampire dies.

Waterfall when...
I Still Believe starts playing
Any flying shots are shown.


Wednesday, March 7, 2018

How a Dream A Little Dream remake could work.

How a Dream A Little Dream remake could work.

With kicking off our second Two Coreys week, I decided to talk turkey over one of my favorite films these two tubular teen titans appeared in durning the glory days of the 1980's. 

Dream A Little Dream.

This was Feldman and Haim's third film they starred in together, which also marked not only the end of a wild decade, but sadly their unstoppable box office power they held at the time. Dream A Little Dream gets a lot of hate from people, but I personally really truly love it. Of course if I ever had to pick, The Lost Boys would of course win for best project they appeared in together. I'm sure for most, that would always be the winner. Still, License To Drive, and Dream A Little Dream are two highly underrated fun films that truly don't get enough love. Now I do know that Feldman and Haim appeared in several other projects together, but for the glory days of the 1980's. we're focusing on their first three films. 

Dream A Little Dream is a film I discovered when I was a little girl and developed a major crush on Corey Feldman. My mother and sister were cool enough to surprise me even by ordering both Dream A Little Dream, and Dream A Little Dream II for me on eBay. Here I received both movies on VHS and still own them to this day. My mother was so cool feeding into my obsession that she even tried briefly to get me Feldman's leather studded jacket he sports on the film's cover. (I found out that the jacket was actually stolen from Feldman years later at the club, ended up being bought at a flea market in Boston, and then returned back to Feldman. Look at that! Go figure!) I did get to see Feldman perform with his angels last summer, where he actually wore the same jacket while performing a song that was originaly supposed to appear on the film's soundtrack, so all in all pretty cool! 

Dream A Little Dream was yet another body-swap picture such as Big, 18 Again! Freaky Friday, Vice Versa, and Like Father Like Son. I feel Feldman said it best in his book from 2013 when he stated that the film's director, the late Marc Rocco was trying to do an art house film, and got some major talent such as actors like Jason Robards, Piper Laurie, and Harry Dean Stanton on board. Sadly the way they marketed this film, audiences were expecting another Two Coreys movie. Some bubblegum, pop teen romance. I mean look at the poster! Instead they got a very odd, confusing, and mature movie that was trying to be something it wasn't. I'll be the first to agree, the film's plot falls apart quickly, and took a basic idea, and just fell apart as the film continued onward. I feel had they tried to keep it simple, this movie would have been received better. It seemed a tad tacked on that Haim was in it (even though I've always enjoyed his appearance in this film, even though it's even less than a supporting role), and Feldman as adorable as he was in it, didn't have the strength to carry a whole film himself. I've never seen him as a leading man (no disrespect here) Back in the 80's he was one HELL of a supporting actor, but I never saw him as the romantic lead. Plus those dance movies tho...come on people. God bless him though, at least he even admitted how in the world does the old man who's in Feldman's body know all these current Michael Jackson movies? M-E-S-S!

Still, it is a cute enjoyable film with a nice little message, and one hell of a soundtrack. In fact I have many memories cranking this soundtrack as a kid with my sister. In fact I just recently found my copy and since seeing the Lifetime movie A Tale Of Two Coreys, I've been rocking out like it's 1989!

So today we're going to talk about how a remake of Dream A Little Dream could work.

Now I'm not about to get on my high horse and talk about remakes. Some work, some are awful, and some...well they are a good stand alone film. So many great 1980's movies have been remade and it's annoying. Some I downright refuse to watch (Footloose anyone?) But I'm always game if the movie does need a reboot. This is a film I could see being turned into a made for TV movie since films like this really don't have the box-office pull they used to (17 again anyone?) 

1) Fix the plot a little. 
- I mean, we're not trying to make Citizen Kane here, but one of Dream A Little Dream's biggest flaws was the fact the plot was a little mucky and all over the place. I would keep it simple. What kinda threw me off was all the scenes were Coleman would fall asleep and visit Bobby in the "dream" world. What was all this stuff about his wife half being in Lainie? Or that if she fell asleep he would lose her forever. WHAT? Also that ending? After all that running around we find that Bobby was just kidding? Ugh, too much. I would seriously straighten things out. Make it that both Coleman and his wife swap bodies and end up in Bobby and Lainie. Here we have two elderly people now as teenagers. I would start that their ecstatic. Their dream came true. They are young again! We show they are enjoying their new bodies and youth, but we then slow the set-backs. I would have their older bodies maybe are in comas, and the real Bobby and Lainie are trapped inside. Maybe it starts to weigh down on them that they stole these two teenagers bodies, and that they need to find a way to swap back and do the right thing. Of course show zany drama. Bobby being a bad-boy and Coleman having to clean up his act, and Lainie being in an relationship. I think the possibilities are endless. This could actually be a fun straight forward story.

2) Cast Elijah Marcano and Justin Ellings.
- I'll admit it. I enjoyed the HELL out of A Tale Of Two Coreys which aired back in January. Usually these bio Lifetime movies are a MESS. I was actually really stunned to see how dark, and well made this movie turned out to be, most of all with the casting. They really captured the book with both Coreys, and I could see these two playing the perfect Bobby and Dinger. But please for the love of GOD. Dye Ellings' hair red. That was the one thing that got me in the scene of the famous hotel trashing scene durning A Tale Of Two Coreys for the Dream A little Dream press tour. Also fix the dinger character rather than being just an add on character for comic relief. I think Elijah killed it as Feldman and I could see him carrying a film. Maybe tone down on the Michael Jackson stuff, and amp up the fact he's an old man trapped in a teenager's body. 

3) Keep it in the 1980's!
- As funny as it would be showing two elderly people trapped in teen's bodies in 2018 with all the modern technology, I feel a major pull/charm of this film was having it take place in the 80's. The original Dream A Little Dream oozed with 80's. In fact, some of the sets and costumes seemed a tad over done. Still, it captured that time pretty perfectly. I think it would be a fun way to honor that time, and have it stand apart from other current movies.

4) Make it air on Lifetime.
- Let's face facts. A film like this wouldn't do well unless it was made for Netflix (which actually isn't a bad idea!) but I feel with A Tale Of Two Coreys, this would make sense if they made it for this network. I mean they have remade some 80's movies before, why not this one? 

5) Cameos and honor Haim.
- What's a remade without cameos? I would seriously have fun with little cameos here and there. Maybe even have Corey Feldman appear as a teacher or something. Better yet maybe the girl's dance teacher? HA! Of course, I would have them honor Haim by dedicating the film in his name. I mean clearly he was having a very hard time when they originally filmed it, and it truly was the beginning of the end for his promising career and talent. I was lucky enough to have met both Coreys, and Haim's passing was a major bummer. Honor the man, and make a film he would have been proud of!

So thoughts? Yay or Nay?

Friday, March 2, 2018

Mohawk (2017)

 Mohawk (2017)
"We're the only monsters left out here." 

PLOT - A young Mohawk woman and her two lovers are forced to fight back against a group of soldiers seeking revenge after their camp has been burned down in 1812.


LOWDOWN - The hype surrounding director Ted Geoghegan's sophomore effort Mohawk has been something I've been following quite closely. After impressing audiences with We Are Still Here, many people much like myself couldn't wait to see what was next for Mr. Geoghegan. I'm a huge fan of independent filmmaking. I feel in the last fifteen or so years, there are countless gems made by talented artist who truly put blood, sweat, and tears into these projects that show nothing less of true passion and soul. Nothing delights me more than seeing independent films succeed, and clearly displays the creator's love and drive behind these stories. What I really liked, was the direction that Geoghegan went with his next movie. Instead of this being a straight forward horror film, we have a different type of horror.

The horror of man, and the evil that they do.

I found myself sitting in awe as after months of buildup, Mohawk played out before me. This is a perfect case that big budgets, elaborate sets, and crazy special effects aren't everything. I believe what really makes a film last long are three main things. Atmosphere, talented actors, and a strong story. This film had all three. Shot up in New York durning the summer, we follow Oak (Kaniehtiio Horne) an absolutely beautiful woman, who's stunning greenish blue eyes, standing out from the black and red war paint pops with emotional throughout the entire film. There are moments when Oak doesn't even speak, but her eyes show such a range of emotion there are times you as the viewer actually feel her pain. She watches as loved ones are slaughtered and tortured before her. From heartbreak, to terror, to pleading for the life of her unborn child, to compete and utter loss, and then rage. In cinema, mostly horror we're used to seeing strong women who are fighters. This is a rare case where our female final girl not only is a different nationality, but she's in a polyamory relationship with two men. One from her own clan, the other a white British officer. She's clearly comfortable enough with her sexuality, sharing not just her body, but her attention to both men, not afraid to call them out on their mistakes, and take charge. This truly was refreshing. She keeps a leveled head, a survivor at all times, as well as a warrior who tragically lost everyone who truly mattered to her. The smoke-hole scene was one of my favorites where both Joshua and her are trapped, becoming trapped by the soldiers, being smoked out. Instead of panicking, she calmly informs Joshua of her pregnancy, before having a vision or hallucination due to the smoke, seeing her spirit animal, or self transformed at the end of the film. Here she finds the drive to fight, and survive, knowing there will be a future. 

I LOVED the shot of her hand bursting through the ground. A beautiful nod to Sam Raimi's cult classic The Evil Dead. 

It's rare to see a pregnant woman in a film shown as a fighter. Loved the scene of Joshua and her traveling by the falls, and for a brief moment Joshua stops to kiss her and touch her stomach. Oak pulls him forward, knowing there isn't any time to stop, that they need to keep going forward into that uncertain future they spoke about. At the end of the film as Oak fights against the last man standing, we watch as she fights back not just for herself, but her child as well. I found this to be a huge strong pull for this story, since despite losing her mother, family, and two lovers, she fights back, finding her inner power by whatever spirit that inhabits the woods, and causes her to find revenge for the men who took everything from her. The ending shot of her truly looks to be a piece of living breathing artwork. She's bloody, hurt, but still standing. She survived, and is looked on by her people who tragically will continue having to survive and fight as their land is taken and are slaughtered. Oak truly is a wonderful role model in a generation where so many women of all races and background are fighting to find their voice. In all honestly I would love to get a tattoo of her. She truly is a role model and I was rooting for her all the way.

Her lovers Calvin Two Rivers (Justin Rain) and Joshua Pinsmail (Eamon Farren) are a perfect example as I said above that what really carries a film, and makes it work are strong actors. We get this shared relationship of two men from different backgrounds and race that clearly are deeply in love with Oak. They even say that they are family, and it's established very early on they all care deeply and are protective of each other. My favorite scene in the entire film was after Oak witnesses her mother murdered, and how they are forced to run deeper into the woods. Once they have a chance to catch their breath, Oak holds onto a tree, breaking down. Here Calvin and Joshua, both looking completely heartbroken join her, and all hug each other. There's no competition between these two men. Instead, they hold Oak, as well as each other, for a brief second looking like lost heartbroken children. This scene, even though there is very little said speaks volumes. This is a perfect example of how moving this film is, and with performances by Horne, Farren, and Rain are what makes it work. 

With the soldiers as the villains, hot on the three lover's trail, we get to see just how ugly and awful men can be. This was a raw perfect example of history as it was, and what's even more frighting...still is. I feel a film like Mohawk was released at a perfect time. Innocence is slaughtered, and families torn apart in bloodshed all for the sake of a "war". Ezra Buzzington (Hezekiah Holt) truly played a bastard in this film. He's Hellbent on revenge for the men who died in the fire, and leads his men deeper and deeper into the woods, ignoring any warnings, or signs that they are sealing their fate. I really liked how ugly and gritty the hate was for these men. There are moments when even Lachlan (Jon Huber) even looks disturbed by the acts that are being committed. One of the best scenes involving these men have to be when Buzzington has just lost his son. He strips down by the riverbank, washing his son's blood off him, before finding a tiny piece of his scalp and hair behind his ear. Here he silently breaks down, holding his child's hair to his lips. This is an ugly realistic look of what's happening, and Mohawk never pulls away from this kind of outlook.

Mohawk is a moving period piece that was released at a perfect time among the madness that is consuming this world we live in. It shows madness that exists then, still exists now.

This was a stunning, beautiful, haunting story, that I'm certain will stay with me. A wonderful score, great cinematography, solid actors, and a very important message that still holds true today. Highly recommend!

5 stars!

Sunday, February 25, 2018

Top 5 best haunted house movies part 2!

 Top 5 best haunted house movies part 2!
 Here are my next five top favorite haunted house movies! Films that honestly make the real-estate market an actual living HELL!

1) Amityville 1992 It's About Time
"It's about time, that's what."
- This is on the top of my list. Not only is it a really decent 90's straight to video horror movie, it's a strong 6th entry in a dying film series that needed some life breathed into it. If you know me, or follow this blog, you understand how much I love this movie. It's seriously one of my all time favorite films despite it's cheesy moments and at times low budget mistakes. This movie actually has a lot going for it, KNB effects, a really strong cast, and it switches up things. With part 4 (The Evil Escapes) it took the smart direction in using cursed objects from the original house, and showed the terror they brought wherever they went. First a lamp, in this a clock, and in the next entry a mirror. It switched the setting to a track housing community on the West Coast, where a land developer comes home with an antique clock from a house that was just torn down (the original house), he places it on the mantle, and in just days the clock begins to possess both him and his teenage daughter. Time begins to either slow down or speed up, a friendly neighborhood dog goes wild, freak accidents occur, and unexplained fires. It's up to the man's ex-girlfriend, and his teenage son to solve the mystery behind the clock before it's too late. This movie really is a prime example of why 90's horror actually wasn't that bad. I would like to think of myself as the world's biggest Amityville 1992 fan. I have an original poster from this framed at the top of my stairs so it's the first thing you see when you enter my house, a signed laserdisc from half the cast, a promotional video store button, VHS tapes, and original artwork from this movie. One of my favorite thing about this film is the twist ending, as well as clever filmed scenes, such as a tracking shot all done in one take that shows hours pass for a character when they enter another room, when it seemed just like seconds. Am I planning on getting a Amytville 92 tattoo someday? Maybe...

2) Amityville II The Possession
"You know my name, you very well know my name..."
- Whenever I talk to people who haven't seen the Amityville movies, I tell them I really do love the original, but it's pretty tame for newer audiences, even though I think it's a great slow-burn horror movie based off a frightening novel. If they are looking for scary, to go check out the sequel...or prequel as I like to call it. Loosely based off the actual murders that occurred in the 1970's, this tells the disturbing tale of a family, sadly living in terror by their abusive father, and how everything quickly falls apart as the house's evil spirits possesses their eldest son. We get incest, strange occurrences, and finally the son going on a rampage murdering his entire family (mother, father, sisters, and brother) one stormy night. The following morning, the boy claimed he had no idea what happened and is put on trial. Here the family priest does everything in his power to prove the boy was innocent, and that it was the house that caused him to commit these terrible crimes. Without going into major spoilers, clearly 90% of this really didn't happen. The murders tho, did. It's very disturbing when that fateful night happens. We watch as the teenage daughter is trapped inside her home, watching as her parents, and young siblings are killed before her very own eyes. This is a really decent possession movie. I feel The Exorcist raised the bar for these types of stories, and with this one it actually almost met the mark. We get a tale of possession as well as a haunted house film. The music is beautiful, the storylines disturbing, and of course the amazing makeup in the final act. Great stuff all around and one of the strongest entries in the entire series.

3) The Hearse 
"Who are you?!"
- The Hearse is another slow-burn decent horror movie with great atmosphere, that I've always really liked watching around spring/summer time. It tells the tale of a schoolteacher who's basically suffered a nervous breakdown after her mother passed away, and she got divorced by her husband. Needing a break from the city and everyday life, she goes out to the country to go live in her great aunt's house I believe, for the summer as a nice way to escape and relax. Once she moves in and starts getting settled, she notices everybody from town treats her strangely. They ignore her, are rude, and call her names, calling her a ghost. Trying to fix up her property, she hires a young man from the local hardware store to help her, before she meets a mysterious handsome man from town. As she starts dating him, she finds her great aunt's diary and reads an entry every night before bed. This is when things start getting strange. First she starts having strange nightmares, over and over again of seeing her own body laying in a casket at her funeral. Then she starts getting followed by a dark hearse at night, which even follows her to her house several times and vanishes as soon as she calls the police. Thinking she's going crazy, she tries to figure out who's driving this hearse, and what they want with her. I guess this movie just recently got the blu-ray treatment. I for one need an upgrade from my old VHS copy, but it's worth checking out 100%

4) Don't Go To Sleep
"Big slices for daddy, little slices for you and me!"
- This is another huge favorite of mine on the list. About 2 years ago my friend Jody and I were at work talking about creepy horror movies we remembered watching growing up. I told her how much I LOVE made for TV horror movies from the 70's and 80's. She instantly asked me if I had seen this movie and urged me to check it out ASAP. I found it on Youtube, and instantly I loved it. The house on the west coast, and creepy "accidents" Valerie Harper as the helpless poor mother, the little brother who played the son in Poltergeist, the scene where the daughter rolls under the bed to find the spirit of her sister waiting underneath smiling at her, the score, the pizza slicer scene, and yes in my eyes one of the scariest ending shots to a movie e-v-e-r. This will always be on the top of my list whenever I need to recommend a horror movie to someone. This is a favorite of mine, and I even own a bootleg copy of this. One of my new summer traditions is to pop some popcorn, and watch this movie. It's about a family who suffered a terrible tragedy the year before when their darling eldest daughter died in a car accident. A year later the father got a new job, and they move to a new house with their chain smoking old mother in-law, and two children. Right off the bat their surviving daughter clearly has some issues. She starts hearing noises at night, thinking something is after her. One night there's even an unexplained fire that happens nearly destroying her bedroom. Time passes, and suddenly she starts seeing her dead sister who claims she returned to play with her. Here she starts to convince her that her grandmother, brother, and other family members think she's crazy, and will lock her away. Here she needs to "take" care of them. Has the spirit of the sister returned for revenge? Or is it something worse. One of the best made for TV horror movies ever made hands down! 5 stars all around!

5) House
"I bet you! You Goddamn house!"
- These movies are so much fun. We have Fred Dekker and Steve Miner teaming up making a really cool movie. What I like is originally it was supposed to be a much more serious movie. Instead they went for a creepy, but fun movie with a little comedy, slapstick, and over the top moments. This is a film I remember watching ever since I was a little kid and absolutely loving. What makes it even better is that these films (all 4 of them that I love) are getting the blu-ray treatment, posters, pins, ect. They are finally getting the respect they deserve. All films are silly, scary, and a good time, but nothing beats the original. I LOVE this house (my dream is to someday find that massive video store display of the house that was given to rental stores back in the 80's.) I love the practical effects (Big Ben, the puppets, the giant ghouls and monsters) Seriously it's like a never ending list of amazing creatures all brought to life. We also have some killer scenes (the mirror that opens down to an endless abyss, the pool, the fish coming to life, ect) It's like an amusement park ride. We follow a writer who's moved into his late aunt's house after she hung herself in her bedroom. Here he decides to focus on his next novel (He's written all highly successful horror novels and now wants to switch gears and writes about his time in the war nearly 10 years ago) Here he tries to focus, but we see all isn't what it seems. A year ago his young son vanished in the backyard of this house without so much as a trace. This resulted in his marriage to his beautiful actress wife to end, and him trying to breathe life into his career. Here he starts to understand that maybe his aunt wasn't crazy, and maybe this house had something to do with his son's disappearance. This is a lighter haunted house movie, but if you want darker, check out part III the horror show!

So there you have it! My favorite haunted house movies! Great for any marathon!

Thursday, February 15, 2018

Cracking open 8 year old My Bloody Valentine candy.

Cracking open 8 year old My Bloody Valentine candy.

I originally meant to do post this article last night in honor of February 14th. But hey, better late than never right? So basically our story begins eight years ago in Kittanning Pennsylvania. I was going to school in PA and one very cold late January weekend, me and my friend Melissa were bored stiff. Deciding to go on a road trip, we found out that the filming location for the 2009 slasher My Bloody Valentine 3D (which was a stellar remake to the 1981 holiday slasher) was less than an hour away from where we were living. In fact Kittanning PA is the location for several other films and TV series. Wanting to do something interesting, we took a brief road trip to this adorable small town, and began looking at all of the filming locations. 

We ended up stopping by the supermarket that's featured in several scenes, owned by the character of Sarah, where a pretty intense scene takes place with the killer later on in the film. What was so cool was that it was so close to Valentine's Day that there were decorations seriously everywhere like in the film. We wandered down the aisles, geeking out before I went through the same register that Tom (Jensen Ackles) goes to say hello to Sarah for the first time in years. Needing something to remember this epic trip by, I grabbed a box of those tasteless candy hearts that you can get around Valentine's Day. 

I originally planned on eating them...but somehow forgot about them. I ended up packing them when I moved back, and there they sat in my office. Years passed, and I even joked about someday having Jensen Ackles sign them (I have met the man before, but I knew my chances of meeting him again were slim to none) So, I just held onto them as a funny little rare piece of horror merch. Then I got an idea. In 10 years I would crack them open and try them.

Well, I lasted eight years. Long enough right?

I decided to say YOLO and try them as sorta an experiment. OH. MY. GOD. What was I thinking?

At first glance they didn't look bad. In fact they still carried that stale chalk like smell that those shitty candies always have. I shrugged, and popped one in my mouth.

Well, to say it was a little hard will be the understatement of the year. I would say it was like biting into a rock hard piece of stone, or steel...or a diamond. Whatever is really hard and tastes like shit.

Like really tasted like shit...

8 year old shit.

So in closing, I learned 8 year old candy tastes terrible, and I'll be sending out these little babies as mini paperweights for the remainder of the year!

Happy 14th everyone!

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

My Bloody Valentine cocktails!!!

My Bloody Valentine cocktails!!!

What better way to celebrate February 14th than knocking back a couple of tasty cocktails?! Here are some awesome drinks inspired by the 1981 and 2009 slasher films!!!

The Miner
1 oz. Spiced rum
1/2 oz. Fernet Branca
1 1/2 oz. Creme de cacao
1/8 teaspoon squid ink (optional, but you know you wanna add it!)
1/2 oz. chocolate stout

The My Bloody Valentine 81
2 oz. Rye
3/4 oz. Campari
3/4 oz. Blood orange juice
1/2 oz. lemon juice
2 teaspoon of rosewater
Blood orange peel for garnish 

The My Bloody Valentine 3D
2-3 large blood oranges juiced. 
1 oz. Campari
4-5 oz. Chilled sparking wine or champagne 
Blood orange peel or blood orange slice. 

The Valentine's Bluff
1.5 oz Vodka
7 oz. Blood orange liqueur
1.5 oz. Blood orange juice.
1 splash of lemon juice
5 Chopped rasberries
5 Chopped strawberries
1 tsp. Sugar
1/2 can of lemon lime soda (like Sprite)
1 sprinkle of shaved chocolate for garnish. 

Remember, don't drink and head down to the mine!