Thursday, July 12, 2018

Chip's Friday the 13th mixed tape!

 Chip's Friday the 13th mixed tape!

To celebrate our last Friday the 13th of the year, over at Staystillreviews we're cooking up something special! Not only is this sadly the last Friday the 13th for awhile, but tomorrow it's also the epic return of Mr. Joe Bob Briggs. Tomorrow we're planning on having a split between a Joe Bob Briggs marathon as well as watching some of our favorite Friday the 13ths in style. Chip will be heading on over to Camp Crystal Lake, hoping that a masked psychopath has taken his ventures elsewhere such as Manhattan, or maybe even Space. Since, hopefully he won't have anything to worry about, Chip plans on heading up to camp, sitting around the fire, drinking cheap beers, and blasting his newest mixed tape.

Chip's Friday the 13th mixed tape!!!


And who knows, maybe next summer Chip will finally get around to starting his camp...Camp Staystillreviews!


Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Ultimate double feature! Final Exam and Graduation Day!

 Ultimate double feature! Final Exam and Graduation Day!

I know, I know, lots of people finished school or graduated weeks ago! Still, doesn't mean that there's no better time than having a really killer double feature of two awesome slashers! I'll be posting about several ultimate double slashers thought the summer. Our first is Final Exam and Graduation Day both made in 1981!

Final Exam tells the story of a psycho killer that shows up on a college campus to slash up pretty co-eds and dumb jocks. 

Graduation Day tells the story of a masked killer slowly taking out the members of the track team shortly before graduation following a tragic accident in which one of the team members suffered a fatal heart attack when she was pushed too hard.

Even though I found Final Exam a little slow, it's still a pretty decent old school slasher. The main event has to go with Graduation Day. Sure this film is cheesy, but honestly it's one of my all time favorite slashers! Crack open some cold beers, grab a pizza, and pop in both of these tapes and you are looking forward to one HELL of a good time!

Stay tuned until next time for another killer ultimate double feature!




Saturday, July 7, 2018

Top 8 summer slashers!

 Top 8 summer slashers!

With summer in full swing, what better way to celebrate than to stay indoors with the A.C cranking, and a pile of fun summer themed slashers to watch. Here I countdown eight of the best slashers to watch this summer!

8). Humongous
- A wealthy young spinster who lives on a private island is violently raped during a family party one weekend during the 1940's. It appears this attack resulted in a pregnancy, in which the woman had the baby who was tragically deformed. Becoming isolated by the outside world, she raised her child there alone for many years. It isn't until forty or so years later that a group of teens looking to party accidentally crash onto the shores of this island, where they find the horrifying truth that there's a giant insane monster living on this island, looking for warm flesh and blood.

7). Prom Night
- Four young children playing an innocent game accidentally cause the death of another child. Vowing never to speak of this again, they go on living normal happy carefree lives, unaware that somebody that day witnessed what happened. Years later, the children are now teens, all getting ready for senior prom. Here an unseen killer begins stalking them one by one, looking for revenge over what happened all those years ago...

6). House On Sorority Row
- A group of sorority sisters having just graduated, plan on throwing a huge party at their sorority house against their strict house mother's rules. Deciding to get even with what a hard time she's giving them all, they decide to pull a prank on her the day of the party. Unlucky for them, the prank gets out of hand, and the house mother accidentally dies. In a complete panic, the girls decide to hide the body when guests start showing up for the party. Here somebody from the den mother's past has witnessed the accident and begins murdering the sorority sisters one by one.

5). The Burning
- A group of campers play a prank on the camp's groundskeeper one night, resulting in him getting horribly burned. Five years later, he's finally been released, but is burned over 90% of his body. Wanting revenge, he travels to a camp in upstate New York and begins to slaughter the campers and councilors one by one.

4). Twisted Nightmare
- Many years ago, a mentally retarded teenager mysteriously died up at a camp called Camp Paradise. His older sister, left devastated. Years later, a huge group of teens who witnessed the death, are all invited back up to Camp Paradise for a weekend of parting. The gang all gets back together for the first time since the tragedy, excited for some carefree fun. Here, an angry vengeful unstoppable spirit has risen from the dead, and begins murdering off the teens. 

3). Graduation Day

- A young girl competing in a track meet suffers from a fatal heart attack, leaving the entire school stunned. A month later, the girl's older sister returns to attend the high school's graduation where they will be paying tribute to her late sister. Here a killer begins murdering off every member of the track team in the days leading up to the graduation. 

2). I Know What You Did Last Summer
- Four teenagers ready to start their life's after high school have everything fall apart on the 4th of July when they accidentally hit a man walking across the street. In a panic over ruining their lives, they decide to throw the body in the ocean, and vow to never speak of what happened again. One year later, one of the girls return back to her hometown, after a very tough year at college, riddled with guilt over that night. When she returns, she sees her other three friends are basically the same, having never quite moved on from what happened. It's here that she receives a note with no return address that reads...I know what you did last summer.

1) Friday the 13th part 1-5
- Killings all taking place around the Crystal Lake area. These slashers have the best summer feel, having either taken place at an actual summer camp, counselor training camp, teens vacationing at a cabin, and a halfway house for troubled teens. All five entries feature gory, amazing deaths, as well as unstoppable killers.




Sunday, July 1, 2018

Enter our 4th of July giveaway!!!

 Enter our 4th of July giveaway!!!

Over here at Staystillreviews we wanted to throw another killer summer giveaway to celebrate 6th wonderful years of running this blog as we follow our mascot Chip the movie loving kid, as we dive into yet another awesome Sensational Summer. Just three or so weeks ago, we held a killer giveaway to kick off the start of summer. Since it was so popular, we decided to hold another one in honor of the 4th of July!

Here we're giving away another awesome VHS video cover art book by Thomas Hodge! I own one of these babies myself, and it's awesome. Total eye candy for any tape lover as you flip through the countless pages of killer artwork!

4th of July and summer themed movies! A special edition DVD of Jaws, a double bill of I know what you did last summer and the When a stranger calls remake. Return of the living dead, with killer new artwork, Shark Night 3D, AND one of my favorite slashers Graduation Day! You'll also get killer Staystillreviews cards, and some extra surprises!

All you have to do to enter is simple. If you're on IG follow my account (Staystillreviews) if you wanna double your chances, repost the image above. If not, repost on Facebook and follow us! 

I'm hoping to hold one more giveaway either at the end of the summer or durning the Fall. Big things are planned for this blog as we continue Sensational Summer. There's going to be more reviews, drinking games, cocktails, interviews, and some truly awesome stuff towards the end of the month.

Let's celebrate July in the best way possible and remember to take a listen to Chip's 4th of July mixed tape!


5 reasons why Summer School is the ultimate summer movie!

 5 reasons why Summer School is the ultimate summer movie!

Over here at Staystillreviews, I basically melted my face off after falling asleep outside on my back deck. Trying to cool off in the best way possible, I cracked open a cold drink, cranked up the A.C, and popped in what I believe is the ultimate summer movie.

Summer School

Today I'm narrowing it down to only five reasons on why this is indeed the ultimate summer movie.

5) Shot on the sunny beaches of California!
- There are certain films that just ooze the look and feel of California in the 1980's. I always say if there was a toss up between three films that really truly show this vibe durning this decade, in the summer, in this state it has to be a tie between Thrashin', The Lost Boys, and Summer School. 

4) Features a crazy batch of colorful zany characters. 
- I really have to hand it to Carl Reiner. He really did make the ultimate summer movie with one HELL of a young talented cast. Some of the humor in this movie is so settle, while other times it's completely over the top. I loved every single character, as well as the deals they make with Shoop in order to actually try and study. Nothing beats the scene where they show that Shoot actually did do a good job and how they all improved somehow taking their test. The best had to be the guy to spent 6 weeks in the bathroom. "My zipper got stuck..."

3) Has a killer soundtrack!
- Danny Elfman, EG Daily, Paul Engemann, Billy Burnette, and so many more. There's a handful of great films that features soundtracks where every song rocks. This is one of those movies. My friend Melissa was awesome enough to gift to me this soundtrack on vinyl a few years back. This record is a staple to always blast as we kick off summer over here at Staystillreviews!

2) Chainsaw and Dave's love of horror.
- I know I'm not alone here, but Chainsaw and Dave's love of horror and gore makeup was a huge reason behind me discovering and loving both things growing up. I mean how cool is it that these two teenagers write a shared paper on Rick Baker, AND get to screen the Texas Chainsaw Massacre in class?! One of my favorite things to do is pick apart how many awesome things I can see in Chainsaw's bedroom. Might have to take a closer look soon!

1) Shoop. the ultimate teacher. 
- He's funny, adorable, has great wit, is constantly eating, drives a killer car, allows his students to throw a 4th of July bash at his house, has Wondermutt as a dog, goes to male strip clubs to pick up women, killer fashion sense, owns a pair of white socks somewhere...AND is one Hell of a gym and English teacher. Shoop will forever and always be my spirit animal from this film! 

Long live the ultimate summer movie!!!








Thursday, June 28, 2018

Hereditary (2018)

 Hereditary (2018)

PLOT -  After a family's matriarch passes away, a grieving family is haunted by disturbing and tragic occurrences, and begin to unravel dark secrets. 

SPOILERS!!!

LOWDOWN - Way back in February, when I took several of my co-workers to go see Winchester for the second time, a new trailer played before hand the movie. Instantly I became interested, as the film was hyping up the fact that it was as scary as The Exorcist, and the last clips that played on the big screen flashed visually stunning moments that felt me unsettled. My co-worker leaned in to me and whispered after the trailer had finished "That looks way too fucking scary." With a grin, I whispered back... "So that means, you want to see it as soon as it comes out." After that in the weeks and months following, I forgot about the movie.

Until a few weeks ago.


Hereditary was getting a wider release, and was brought to us by the same production company that gave us such beautiful and terrifying films like The Witch, and It Comes At Night. In the last ten or so years independent horror yet again found it's own footing, and some truly wonderful projects have remain underrated have been released. About 2 weeks ago a friend and I decided to go check it out late one Thursday night. The only spoiler we had heard was that the young daughter's head somehow gets cut off. To some that's a major spoiler, but to me I just figured there was some gross out decapitation since I went in thinking this was going to be your regular straight out horror movie.

Boy was I wrong...


After leaving the theater, I was able to say that I witnessed wasn't a straight  up horror movie with tons of gore, and jump scares. No, what Hereditary is...it's a smartly written psychological supernatural thriller. What my friend Sean called it was a "Thinking man's horror film." This was a beautiful, and quite disturbing piece on grief and how people handle different types of it. We've all been there before, when a distant family member who we didn't get along with, or felt close with passes. Sometimes it doesn't even need to be a distant family member...maybe it's from a toxic relationship that felt strained and as horrible as you feel, it's relief that's flowing through you instead of sadness. Sometimes you just don't feel sad at all. I love how Annie returns from her mother's funeral and turns towards her husband and asks him if it's wrong she doesn't feel sad? He replies that she can fell whatever way she wants. Even when Steve (the husband) checks in on their teenage son and asks their teenage son Peter if he feels sad over his grandmother's passing, who is said to have lived with them in the last years of her life when she became quite ill. Clearly not having been close with her, he just sorta shrugs, not knowing how to answer this. Steve laughs and nods saying he knows. Sometimes a passing of somebody we know or even a family member isn't a tragedy. Sometimes you just aren't that close to that person despite the relationship, and maybe after a strained time together, or a long illness it's just sorta a relief. I liked how Annie goes to a grief counseling meeting, and opens up about her past relationship with her mother. Earlier at her funeral, she remarks what a complicated relationship they had, and how she's surprised to see so many new faces at her mother's funeral since she was extremely distant to everyone. At the grief meeting, she opens up about what a dark and disturbing history she had with her mother. It's mentioned earlier that Annie's youngest daughter Charlie was her mother's favorite. That she used to insist on breast feeding her daughter when she was a baby (Um, what?) and how when she had her son, she was estranged to her mother (after the disturbing deaths of both her father and brother) The two hadn't spoken for years, and she forbid her mother to come around her newborn son. Finally after years of distance, the two agreed to patch up their broken relationship (her mother suffered from personality disorders, and the details of her father and brother's deaths were VERY disturbing) Here she remarks that she regrets allowing her mother to move in since it appeared that she got her "hooks" into Charlie her daughter. Very settle things are shown and mentioned in the first twenty or so minutes of this film. There are strange words and symbols written on the bedroom walls of Charlie's room, symbols that match the same necklaces Annie wears at her mother's funeral, as well as the same exact necklace her mother is buried in.


Charlie in fact is a very interesting character. When I first saw trailers of Hereditary I wondered what was wrong with the daughter. Her facial structure seemed "off" and this is no slander towards the VERY talented actress who played her. I like that instead of casting some adorable little pre-teen we showed a young girl that seemed just a little "off" and a little different. How she may be slightly mentally slow. The little tick of hers of "clucking" with her tongue. How she's a tomboy and remarks that her grandmother always wished she was a boy. How she seems to have some speech delays, and is constantly wearing this baggy orange sweatshirt, and snacks on candy bars, and makes these really fucking weird toys that are both disturbing, as well as interesting. Made with real animal parts, metal, and string. Clearly something isn't right with Charlie, but you feel bad for her and can relate at being that awkward age, and really not knowing what to do with yourself.

The relationship with Annie and her eldest son Peter is great. Love that even before any of this stuff begins to happen, there's tension between the two of them. It's more than just attitude between a mother and her teenage moody son...there's more. It seems as if every word they speak to each other is filled with tension. Of course as the film goes on we discover the source behind why their relationship is portrayed this way. I loved how Annie insists on Peter taking his younger sister with him to what he claims is a school cookout (In reality it's a party, where he's planning on trying to hook up with his school crush, and smoke lots of pot) Wanting Charlie to get out more and hang with other kids her own age, she insists that she goes with her brother. Here they arrive at a friend's house with is packed with partying teens. Peter ditches his sister to go smoke pot with his crush, but tells his sister to grab a slice of cake while she waits for him. It's revealed early on that Charlie is highly allergic to nuts, and the same knife that's being used to slice the cake was seen moments before chopping nuts (Why somebody was chopping that many nuts at a teenage party is beyond me, but I'm not questioning it!) Charlie takes a slice of cake, and instantly you see her trying to swallow as the allergic reaction begins. As somebody who's very allergic to blueberries this scene really freaked me out. I felt awful watching her as she struggles to breath. Going to her brother, her face swelling, and barley able to breath, Peter carries her out of the party, places her in the backseat, and speeds away towards the hospital.


This is where Hereditary took a left turn and will be remembered for straying away from the typical storytelling form, and became a terrifying realistic drama. While Charlie claws at her throat in the backseat, struggling to breath, Peter pushes 80 in the car, speeding down a back highway towards the hospital. That's when he sees a deer in the road and swerves to avoid hitting it. At that exact moment Charlie rolled down her window, and sticks her head out trying to get more air. Just as this happens, the car swerves and goes very close to a telephone pole. Charlie's head whacks into it, and off her head goes.

Peter slams on the breaks and sits in silence. We as an audience are completely stunned like him. This all happened so fast, and now we're in silence. Peter is still gripping the wheel, staring ahead. He can't even bring himself to look in the rearview mirror, knowing he just accidentally killed his younger sister. He sits there, staring ahead in shock. He even mutters softly "You're okay..." before slowly taking his foot off the break, and driving forward. He returns home, his dead sister's body hanging half in, half out of the car window. He parks, and goes into his house in a trance. He hears his parents in bed for the night say "Good, they're home." as he goes into bed and climbs into bed. Lots of people questioned this, asking why did he just go home and not tell his parents? Why leave the scene of the accident? Lot's of people including the director state because he was in shock. He's a seventeen year old kid with the weight of the world on his shoulders knowing he just accidentally killed his sister. Maybe he wanted his parents to have one last night before the truth of this tragedy set it, or maybe he just wanted to crawl into bed and wake up from this nightmare. Whatever the reason is, the way they filmed the morning after with just a tight close up of Peter's face, as you hear Annie leave the house to run errands, before her blood curlding scream is heard downstairs. Here I found the director making the brilliant choice in not showing the horrific aftermath, but instead relying on the wonderful Toni Collette's acting. Seconds later, we jump to a later scene where Annie is on all fours, dry heaving, screaming, and sobbing as her husband tries to comfort her. I'm not a parent, but I could only imagine the horrifying gut wrenching pain a parent goes through when they suffer a loss like this, let alone one so brutal. I've lost loved ones before, some I haven't fully gotten over, and seeing someone grieve like this spoke volumes. It wasn't over the top, or cheesy. It was gritty, uncomfortable, and very realistic. Moments later the audience gets to see Charlie's mangled head left on the side of the highway the next morning. A bloody pulp, covered in ants. This is an image that I know stuck with many viewers. Nobody wants to see the head of a young girl, let alone rotting in the sunlight, covered in bugs. Yet here it is. Grief and death isn't this pretty little thing. It's ugly, and tragic. This was a very realistic view.


Afterwards we watch this family in the weeks following trying to cope, let alone move on. Annie begins sleeping in her daughter's treehouse with heaters, trying to find any form of comfort to be close to the daughter she suddenly lost. She begins to ignore her work (which were super cool miniature work. I've seen pieces like this before, but the attention to detail is completely insane. One of the coolest shots has to be the opening where it transforms to the house the family lives in, zooming into Peter's room to the actual real house. The cinematography in this film was very beautiful, as were the visual and practical effects. Here we get to see how does a family cope with this horrible loss? Peter of course is haunted by what happened, as well as the guilt eating away at him. Once a carefree stoner, he now is thrusted into this horrible empty lonely world. I loved the scene of him smoking pot with his buddies and suddenly having a panic attack. Things that were once fun aren't anymore. This really hit the nail on the head for me, as well as him trying to build the courage to enter his house after he dumps his bike with Annie just watching/glaring from her car.

One of the most uncomfortable scenes has to be a dinner scene following where you can tell everything the son is doing is annoying Annie, right down to how he's eating. Peter senses this and begs him mother to just get off her chest how she feels and here one of the best acted scenes I've seen nearly all year is played out. When I saw this, everyone and I mean everyone in the theater was silent. My heart broke for these characters as the husband Steve tries his best to be the buffer and keep the peace.


Without really going into a play by play on the each scene, we basically follow Annie as he befriends a woman from the grief group. She lost her grandson and I believe son nearly a year before, and becomes a source of comfort to Annie to explains how horrible it was discovering her daughter's body, and the history behind the tension that's been building between Peter and her. It seems that years ago when Peter and Charlie shared a room. Annie had trouble with sleepwalking and woke up to finding herself spraying paint thinner all over her children, and a box of matches in her hand. Peter woke up terrified of course, and all these years later things haven't been the same despite how much Annie tried to explain that wasn't her, that she was sleeping and completely unaware of what she was doing. Shortly after, her friend invites her over, excited over something that's just happened. It seems she met with a medium, who taught her how to contact her lost loved ones. She shows this to Annie, who of course is completely freaked out. Her friend urges her to try to do so, reciting the same chant she did, and using something that connects back to her daughter (an object of some sort) to make contact and find comfort that she's crossed over. Annie at first is uneasy, but decides to try one night. Thrilled that she actually made contact, she wakes Peter and Steve up and shows them. Quickly this little experiment becomes out of control, and instantly Annie knows something isn't right. 

In the events that follow, we see that this was in fact all a trap for Annie to think she was contacting her daughter's spirit, where actually she was awakening a demon that her mother, and other fellow cult members worshiped for years. It seems that this demon preferred a male host, and had entered Charlie before she was born, knowing that this wasn't quite the right vessel. We watch as Annie discovers these terrifying secrets that mother hid, and how this demon is trying to enter her son who believes he's losing his mind. The third act goes at lighting speed as everything reaches a head.

Without really spoiling the entire end, all I have to say this bravo to this director. Instead of relying on jump scares, he focused on moments that made you uneasy and uncomfortable. Some of the best have to be when a character thinks they see someone standing in the shadows. One of the most affective had to be when Annie thinks she sees her mother after going through her things. Or the famous "cluck" moment that actually made me jump. The last act is bat shit crazy, but one moment that truly stuck out for me had to me when Peter locks himself in the attic, crying for his mother when he hears something and looks up. I won't say who he sees, or what they are doing...but the look on that person's face is why I've been sleeping with my light on the last few weeks. No joke.


I found the ending over the top but in a good way. The music was beautiful, and all of the visuals very terrifying. One character's beautiful soothing voice narrates what's happening, and I gotta say, it really packed a punch for me. This was a wonderful beautiful piece on grief, and really was a stand out film for sure. I'll say it, and I'll say it again. Mohawk, Hereditary, and Winchester were the best movies I've seen so far this year. 

Hereditary will be a hard act to follow for sure.

5 stars!


Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Victor Crowley (2017)

Victor Crowley (2017)

PLOT - Ten years after Victor Crowley massacred over forty people and was finally sent back to Hell, the only known survivor Andrew Young (the paramedic from part III) is doing a publicity tour on his book based off the events had took place in 2007. Offered a deal he can't refuse, a small production crew is flying him back to Honey Island Swamp. Unknown to him, a small group of filmmakers, wanting to make a movie based off what happened, accidentally rise the spirit of Victor Crowley. When an unforeseen plane crash happened, the survivors are stuck inside, with Victor doing everything within his power to get inside.

LOWDOWN - I still remember back in 2007 when a friend of mine decided to buy this new horror movie that just so happened to have a huge batch of horror stars in it, and the hype behind it was pretty big. Since we're from New England, she bought it from Newbury Comics, and got a free glass that came with her DVD. We sat down at her house, and watched it.

I. Loved. It. 

I remember I instantly had to go and buy a copy for myself. A few years later while away at school, a friend of mine who also loved the first Hatchet movie, rented part II and both of us were BLOWN away by Tony Todd's big moment at the end of the movie. A year or so later I discovered Hatchet's director Adam Green's other film Frozen, and I still stay true to my belief, this was one of the best/most realistic films that honestly make you wonder "What would I do?" I respected Adam Green, not only for his filmmaking skills, but for being from New England. It was nice seeing more directors and writers from this area since at the moment Eli Roth really wasn't making any films at the time since he was strictly acting at the moment. It wasn't until 2013 that Hatchet III was announced and I instantly knew I needed to go see it since my favorite actor Zach Galligan was set to play the sheriff. The funny thing is, Adam Green announced that he was holding a silent auction, for the tragic Boston Marthon victims that had just happened a month or so before. Here he was going to have some cast and crew from the 3 Hatchet movies, and sell of rare awesome props and prizes for the One Fund cause. The next night he was screening Hatchet 3 for the first time ever, with the cast in the audience. Of course I needed to go, even though I was flying down to Florida to meet Zach Galligan just a week before this. I found it of course laughable that I was flying all this way to meet Zach even though I would be meeting him just a week later in my hometown. Hey YOLO. I talked two of my good friends into going with me, and I gotta say, it was one of the coolest things I ever did. That night I got to see so many cool directors, and actors, AND I won Zach's very own personal Waxwork II crew shirt, which is still one of my favorite pieces of my collection. The next night we got to do a Hatchet marathon in Boston, and got to witness the third and "final" entry in the series which in my eyes was honestly the Aliens of this series. It was action packed, and truly felt like the final film with a pretty awesome ending, with a cast packed full of stars. 

I was happy with how the Hatchet films ended, and thought that was that.


Until this past October when it was revealed that Adam Green's Hatchet 10th anniversary tour was actually a massive reveal to show he had been filming a 4th Hatchet movie in secret over the last two years. I remember everyone was completely losing it over this news, while I just sorta shrugged and went "Eh." I think honestly it was because of two reasons. 1). I was basically sick all of October, which royally sucked, and 2). I felt part 3 really wrapped things up perfectly and just seemed like some dumb way to cash in on a series much like so many other slasher series I love and adore. As much as I love some sequels, there are others that I just roll my eyes about, and wonder why didn't they stop it two or three sequels before when things seemed to be wrapped up neatly and nicely. I witnessed this first hand with the Saw series as a teenager, and figured this was how people viewed the Nightmare On Elm Street and Friday the 13th films back in the 1980's.


I heard mixed things about this entry, and honestly had no interest in seeing it, until about a week or so ago. I had just started my summer break (as well as our fourth annual Sensational Summer) I had just finished wrapping up Slasher Film Week with some other fellow bloggers, and horror fans, and was taking a look at my slashers both on VHS, DVD, and blu-ray. That's when I saw the Hatchet series. I found it such a shame, that I really hadn't dug Adam Green's Digging Up The Marrow, and never watched his TV show based off his hometown. I liked his Scary Sleepover web series, loved Sprial (one of his first films), Frozen, and the first 3 Hatchet films. Even tho, he seemed like total "Bro horror." I had enjoyed this films for what they were, and respected the dude for being kid a heart, a massive fan, and a filmmaker from my area. I've met Adam about 3 times and he's been nothing but a nice guy. So I started thinking...here I have every single sequel to Nightmare On Elm Street, Friday the 13th, Saw, Puppet Master, Slumber Party Massacre, Halloween, Child's Play, and God knows what else. I sometimes just owned sequels to own them. Some I loved, some I hated. Why was I being such a snob and not check out Green's latest effort where he returns to what he knows best.

Slaughtering people in Honey Island Swamp.


I didn't love Digging Up The Marrow, so who knows maybe returning to a series I really enjoyed might be fun. Besides, what did I have to lose? I was supporting a filmmaker I liked, AND I could say I owned the complete Hatchet series. This wouldn't take away from how much I loved part 3, and if this 4th entry was that much of a shit show I could just pretend like so other movies that it didn't exist. So for the first time since this past December when I got You Better Watch Out (Which I LOVED) I did a blind buy and bought Victor Crowley,

I'm glad I did.


Just a few nights ago I laid back with my A.C blasting, and popped it into my laptop, and right from the start I had to admit, it felt like an Adam Green film, and I was laughing, and shaking my head at all the super over the top moments. Mr. Kane Hodder was back as the second villain he's made famous in his career, and it was just as over the top as the last 3 films. There was tons of gore, body parts, and blood.

I loved how YET again Parry Shen returns, playing AndrewYoung (the paramedic who survived after hiding on the boat with Adam Green's ex wife and Galligan in part 3) Shen's characters throughout the series have always been a riot, and I love that Green calls him his good luck charm in this series. I really liked how it's ten years later, and his character is still trying to cash in on what happened. Having gotten a ghost writer to help him write about his experiences, and doing a publicity tour. I adored Felissa Rose (Sleepaway Camp was my jam was a pre-teen and the first slasher I ever owned on DVD) as his agent. I love her Long Island accent. The best part has to be her using the post-it notes to cover up Andrew's sign at the book signing when somebody puts a giant dick on it. "One...two...oh wow this is a big one! Three!" Seriously I'm a ten year old kid, this kind of humor kills me. I liked how Andrew married this seedy TV talk-show host who he's divorced to, and agrees to return to the swamp when he's offered a large sum of money. 


The second story taking place at the same time is a small group of young filmmakers, trying to convince Andrew to appear in their fan-made trailer to a low budget film they want to make based off the original murders. The acting here was a little select, but I really loved Laura Ortiz's character Rose. She came across as so likable I might actually check out Green's TV show after all. She was so tiny and adorable, but I died at her ready to throw the hatchet and saying "She may be tiny...but she is fierce." Seriously screamed laughed at that. Hope to see her in more.

I also loved Dave Sheridan (Yes from Scary Movie) He was actually my favorite character, and basically supplied most of the laughs in the entire movie. 

I also really loved how the entire film in the last act takes place in the broken down crashed plane. Green really can take a small setting, and isolate his characters, showing what do you do when you become trapped? (Like the chairlift in Frozen) This was a simple set piece but it worked. Loved the whole, how do they get help? Do they risk running? How can Victor get in? What do they use to fight back? It was basically the boat Andrew was stuck in brought to a whole new level. Some of my favorite moments took place on this place, and was absolutely terrifying whenever Victor tried to get inside. 


I have to admit, when a certain character reveals that they are pregnant (huh? Maybe Green was looking for shock value via Friday the 13th part 3) and how she's trapped underneath seats with water pouring in actually made me super uneasy, and supplied the film with plenty of moments when I felt super uncomfortable and bad. Leave it to Green to one second have me laughing my ass off, then sitting back stunned. 

Even though there isn't as much action as the last entry, it's still highly entertaining, and had lots of cameos from past stars, or people that exist in the horror community. I just wish the opening had been a little stronger. Still, it left us with a shocking ending, and had the most epic of all cameos at the end. So all in all, as much as I thought I was going to hate it, I actually enjoyed this entry for what it was. As of right now my favorite Hatchet movies go as...

Hatchet 3, Hatchet, Victory Crowley, and Hatchet II.


So 3 cheers Adam Green, stick with Honey Island Swamp and I think we're in businesses. 

3 1/2 stars!

Monday, June 25, 2018

10 movies to watch to get into the vacation state of mind!

10 movies to watch to get into the vacation state of mind!
There's honestly nothing better durning the summer than to crack open a few cold beers, crank up the A.C, and pop in some awesome movies. Tonight at Staystillreviews' HQ we're currently watching the 1989 cult classic The Burbs. Wanting to "dig" up some other classics that will get you into the vacation state of mind!

1) The Burbs
- A group of bored surburanites one summer become convinced that the new neighbors who are rarely seen are actually a group of psychos who are burying bodies in their basement.

2) Summer School
- A gym teacher who teaches for three reasons (June, July, and August) is forced to teach summer school to a group of misfits. Deciding to bribe them into learning, he actually figures out his zany style of teaching is quite helpful.

3) Jaws
- A small New England coastal town is terrorized by a giant great white man eating shark. It's up to a crazed fisherman, scientist, and local sheriff to stop it durning the 4th of July holiday.

4) Return Of The Living Dead
- A toxic gas is accidentally released at a medical warehouse which causes the dead to come back to life durning the 4th of July weekend. Here the warehouse workers, a funeral home owner, and a group of punk rockers become trapped as they fight off the hundreds of zombies that have just risen from the local cemetery. 

5) Friday the 13th part 3
- Jason returns, wounded and still looking for young teenagers to slaughter around the Crystal Lake area. Here he sets his sights on a group partying at a local cabin.

6) Piranha 
- Man eating piranha are accidentally released into a river that just so happens to have a summer camp, and a huge resort attached to it.

7) Sleepaway Camp
- A shy young girl and her cousin attend summer camp, and are constantly bullied and picked on. Over the course of the summer several "accidental" deaths take place. Are they really accidents? Or is there a crazed killer walking around?

8) Ghoulies II
- The little demons from Hell escape, and wander into a traveling carnival and decide to hide in a huge haunted house where guests believe they are part of the attraction. 

9) The Lost Boys
- Two brothers and their newly divorced mother move to a coastal town one summer, only to discover that it's the murder capital of the world. Here the eldest becomes involved in a local gang who also happen to be blood sucking vampires.

10) Day Of The Dead
- In the third installment in the Dead Trilogy, a year or so has passed since the virus passed, and now a small group of scientist and military are holding up in an underground bunker trying to figure out a cure for what's happened, as well as trying not to kill each other. Finally one scientist believes he's found the answer to what's happened when he shows off a zombie that still remembers when he was a human...

So what other movies do you love to watch around this time of year? Let me know!