Thursday, February 20, 2020

Top 5 best made for TV horror movies!

Top 10 best made for TV horror movies!
One of my favorite things to do when I'm home is to make a pot of coffee, and log onto Youtube on my smart TV and search for made for TV horror and thriller films from the 1970's and 1980's. Here is my top five list of the best so far that I've seen!

1)Trilogy Of Terror
- The same woman (Karen Black) appears in three tales as a blackmailed teacher, two feuding opposite sisters, and a woman trapped in her apartment as a blood thirsty killer dolls comes to life trying to hunt her.

2) Don't Go To Sleep
- A young girl begins seeing the ghost go her sister who died a year earlier. Here a series of strange accidents plague the family, as the girl learns that her deceased sister promises she'll take care of anybody that stands in the way of them being together forever.

3) Dark Night Of The Scarecrow 
- In a small Southern town, a wrongfully killed man exacts revenge on those who murdered him from beyond the grave. Each time shortly before an "accident" happens the would-be victim spots a lone scarecrow on their property. 

4) Devil Dog: Hound From Hell
- A dog that is a tool used by Satan terrorizes a suburban family, leaving the father completely helpless as he fights not only for his family's souls, but his own life as the obsession over the family pet grows.

5) Bad Ronald
- A teenage boy accidentally kills a neighbor. His mother hatches a plan in which they will pretend he ran away and while they wait until the police lose interest, they construct a hidden room within the walls of their house. When his mother suddenly dies, and the house is sold to a new family, the boy remains hiding within the walls and slowly grows a very unhealthy obsession with one of the new family's teenage daughters. 










Tuesday, February 18, 2020

15 horror movies turning 30 this year!

15 horror movies turning 30 this year!

It's truly surreal to think that the year 1990 was officially 30 years ago. I think I'm speaking for most people in saying whenever somebody mentions something being "30 years ago." I often think that's like 1984 or 1985. NOT 1990! Man oh man! Still, I decided to highlight 15 killer horror films from that year that have 30th birthdays this year!

1) Nightbreed
- A man convinced he's a murderer wanders to a cemetery where legend has it that monsters live beneath in an underground kingdom. After being bitten by one of the creatures, he discovers he's innocent and that his psychiatrist has been the one committing all of the local murders, with the intent on framing him. After being fatally shot by the police, he rises from the dead now immortal, and leading the creatures in a full blown war against the real monsters...man.

2) Tremors 
- Two workmen from a small desert town discover massive alien worm like creatures that tunnel underneath the ground, and are attracted by sound, eating anyone that gets in their way.

3) Misery
- After a famous author is rescued from a near fatal car crash by a fan of his novels, he comes to realize that the care he is receiving is only the beginning of a nightmare of captivity and abuse.

4) The Exorcist III
- A police lieutenant uncovers more than he bargained for as his investigation of a series of murders, which have all the same trademarks of a deceased serial killer who was put to death almost fifteen years before...the very same night a young girl had an exorcism performed on her.

5) Child's Play 2
- While Andy's mother is admitted to a psychiatric hospital, the young boy is placed in foster care, and Chucky determined to claim Andy's soul is not far behind after he's been rebuilt by the company who makes the Good Guy dolls to prove that the story of him "coming to life" doesn't hold up in court. Here, Chucky goes on a blood thirsty rampage with the clock ticking as he grows more and more human with each passing day he spends trapped inside this doll's body.

6) Tales From The Darkside The Movie
- A young boy, trapped by a witch planning on cooking him for a dinner party she's holding tries to stall her by reading from a book called "Tales From The Darkside." Here he tells her three frighting tales. One about a cursed killer mummy returning from the grave to seek revenge, the second of a hitman hired to kill a cat that's killed several people, and last a tragic romance about a broken promise between an artist and the love of his life.

7) Night Of The Living Dead (remake)
- Several strangers are trapped in a farmhouse in the middle of nowhere as a zombie outbreak just seems to be starting outside. Tensions are high among everyone as they argue over if they should board up the place and stay put, or make a run for it.

8) Stephen King's IT
- Seven outcasts all become friends durning one fateful summer in the late 1950's while a series of violent murders are taking place involving children in the small town they are all from. It doesn't take long for the gang to see that a creature from another world are committing the murders, feeding off the fear of children, and taking form of whatever monster it pleases, it's favorite form being that of a frightening looking clown called Pennywise. Here the group decides since none of the adults in town can see this creature, nor want to believe them that it's up to them to stop it and kill it before it's too late.

9) Leatherface The Texas Chainsaw Massacre III
- A couple driving across the state of Texas are run off the road by a crazed psychopath, resulting in them running for their lives in the woods before stumbling upon a family of cannibals.

10) Stephen King's Graveyard Shift 
- A drifter gets hired to work in a factory up in Northern Maine. Over the 4th of July weekend he's hired along with several other workers to clean out the massive basement so they can clear building codes. Here the men discover a hidden trap door that leads to massive underground tunnels down below with huge flesh eating rats and creatures beyond their wildest nightmares.

11) Flatliners 
- Five medical students experiment with "near death" experiences until the dark consequences of past tragedies begin to jeopardize their lives. 

12) Frankenhooker 
- A young medical student loses his fiancé' in a freak accident and completely snaps, unable to move on. Discovering a way to bring her back from the dead, he uses dead hooker's body parts to sew her back together only to have her return not quite "right" Here he has to chase her all around the city with a crazed pimp looking for him to get his revenge.

13) Arachnophobia 
- A species of South American killer spider hitches a lift to the U.S in a noggin and starts to breed and kill, resulting in a small town completely overrun with deadly house spiders that can kill you with a single bite. 

14) Basket Case 2
- Duane and his basket-bound mutant brother are taken in by a secret home for wayward freaks with journalist hot on their tail.

15) Darkman 
- A brilliant scientist left for dead returns to exact revenge on the people who burned him alive. With a formula to create fake skin, he has the ability to wear different faces to track down the men who ruined his life. Only downside is, the skin starts to melt after being left in the daylight in less than an hour. 


Thursday, February 6, 2020

My Bloody Valentine themed cocktails!!!

My Bloody Valentine themed cocktails!!!

It's February, love is in the air! Glitter red, pink, white, and purple hearts are decorated all over! Crazed miners are stalking the streets, and hearts are getting torn from people's chests. What better way to celebrate this magical time of year than to toss back some cocktails based off one of the greatest slashers ever made!!!

The Valentine's Bluff
1 part sweetened lime juice
2 part raspberry vodka
2 part cranberry juice cocktail
1 part grenadine 

The MBV 81
1 1/2 oz. Patron Silver Tequila 
1/2 oz. Grand Marnier
1/4 oz. Cherry or Chambord raspberry liquor
2 oz. chilled peach juice
3 maraschino cherries as a garnish
1 orange spiral as added garnish as well. 

The MBV 3D
1 1/2 oz. Malibu rum
1 oz. Cointreau or Grand Marnier
1/2 oz fresh lime juice
1/2 oz. fresh lemon juice
3 oz. chilled lemon-lime soda
Dash of grenadine for color
Lemon wheel

The Harry Warden
1 mg activated charcoal tablet 
1 oz. Honey syrup.
1 3/4 oz. Fresh lime juice
1 oz. Vodka 
2 1/2 Beet juice 
Lime slice for garnish 

The Toasted Mabel
3 oz. Rumchata
1 oz. Vanilla Vodka
1/2 oz. Fireball Whiskey
Cinnamon sugar for the rim of the glass.

Enjoy! Remember don't drink and operate pickaxes!!!


Wednesday, February 5, 2020

Chip's Valentine's Day Mixed Tape!

 Chip's Valentine's Day Mixed Tape!

Over here at Staystillreviews' headquarters Chip is celebrating February in complete and utter style. Wanting to impress some promising dates he has on the radar, he knows the fastest way to impress in order to score dates to take to the Staystillreviews' drive-in is to whip up a couple of copies of his famous yet romantic Valentine's Day Mixed Tape! But Shhhhh! If any of his dates ask, they were the only ones to receive a copy. Chip would never admit he's a man slut. 



So in closing, next week as you try and set the mood for the 14th, take a listen to Chip's mixed tape where killer tunes, as well as romance is floating in the air!
One mixed tape, several cases of cheap beer, and one pizza = Chip is getting laid for sure.



Tuesday, February 4, 2020

Freaked (1993) Drinking Game!

Freaked (1993) Drinking Game!

Drink when...
The name Rick or Ricky is said. 
Whenever Julie and Ernie hit each other.
A new freak is introduced.
Puss is shown oozing from Ricky.
EES is mentioned. 
Someone is shot.
Someone screams. 

Take a shot when...
A flashback is shown.
The chemical Zygrot 24 is said.

Waterfall when...
Jule and Ernie are transforming together. 
Skuggs starts punching Stuey
The Freak machine is shown running.
Whenever the opening credits are playing.
The styrofoam cup is shown falling.

Have fun and remember to watch out for those thirteen milkmen!!!


Interview with Velizar Lonikov!

Interview with Velizar Lonikov!
"They're wet..."

It was this photo that made me absolutely love Mr. Lonikov aka Velfornia13 on IG. A fellow horror movie fan that has been killing with with his amazing taste in movies and jaw dropping cosplays. I was lucky enough to talk movies with him over here at Staystillreviews...


Top ten favorite movies?

Scream, Bring It On, The Descent, Drop Dead Gorgeous, Moulin Rouge, Spirited Away, Mean Girls, Hocus Pocus, I Still Know What You Did Last Summer, and The Ring. 

What is a must to watch every December and why?

 A must watch every December, for me, is both Black Christmas movies back to back. There is just something so special and nostalgic about both films. The original is a creepy, slow burn, that gives me chills to this day. (Hello eye shot through the door!). The remake, which was panned, is a gleefully stupid, yet charming, reimagining of the story. There isn't anything scary about it, but it sure is pretty to look at!

What has been your favorite cosplay/costume you have dressed up as?

This is always a tough one for me because I've loved every single one of them. However, I think that the one that I love the most is dressing up as Sidney Prescott. Growing up, all I ever wanted to be was her, and now I can be! 

 Top 3 favorite TV shows?

Top three favorite shows?? Why must you do this to me! 
Friends
Two Broke Girls
True Blood

Best ending to a movie ever and why?

I would honestly have to say the best ending to a movie would go to The Mist. The way the movie plays with your emotions and then abruptly throws in that curveball...well it's gut-wrenching. 

Favorite scream queen?

Sidney Prescott. Hands down. She's such an amazing woman, and she's survived 7 serial killers. That's beast mode! 

Best villain/hero in a film?

Best Hero? Charlize Theron in Mad Max Fury Road. Best Villian? Voldemort. 

All time favorite VHS artwork you've ever seen?

All-time favorite VHS artwork will have to go to Sleepaway Camp 2. That was the one VHS I always ogled at Blockbuster and to this day still sticks with me. 

What movie/TV movie NEEDS to be released on blu-ray?


Susie Q needs to be released on dvd or blu ray like yesterday!! That movie deserves better! 

Favorite death/kill in a horror/slasher movie?

The entire Final Destination 2 deaths. 

Best film you've seen in theaters in this past year?

The absolute best film goes out to Crawl. That was one damn fun and thrilling ride in theaters! 

Favorite horror hunk?

 Ryan Reynolds. Amityville shirtless god. 

Favorite guilty pleasure movie?

Win a Date with tad hamilton. it's okay, you can laugh! 

Dream convention guest you would die to meet?

NEVE CAMPBELL! Which, will probably be a reality soon!

Any future cosplays we can look forward to?

 Right now I've taken a small break from doing cosplays to focus on Real Estate in California, but the future is an open book!

I will be getting back to it asap!

- HUGE thanks to Vel for taking the time to talk movies with me. Head on over to IG and give his page a follow (Velfornia13) 


Tuesday, December 17, 2019

5 dream boxsets we wished would get released!!!

5 dream boxsets we wished would get released!!!
Photo by IG friend Adamsundead96

Well today my work was canceled due to the snow. I decided to make the best out of today by kicking back, sipping some cranberry ginger ale, and watching some holiday classics in order to get into the holiday spirit. I'm currently watching Silent Night Deadly Night Part 2 via Joe Bob Briggs when I got into a conversation with a fellow Instagram friend over dream boxsets we wished would get released, but sadly due to rights and other legal issues, will probably never see. I mean this year all ready we got the "cursed objects" sequel blu-ray boxset for the Amityville films. The fact Amityville 1992 It's About time got a blu-ray release goes to show you...never say never! Here are 2 "dream" boxsets I would just die to see get released. Just think, all of these films in crystal clear HD, transferred with crisp colors, sound, and packed full of extras! Man oh man! Now that would be amazing! I certainly hope some of these aren't too far fetched. Shout Factory? Arrow? I certainly hope you are listening! Who knows, maybe some of the truly killer underrated independent companies! You never know! Which movies/boxsets do you hope to get released? Here are five of mine...

The Romero Dead Trilogy
What would be included?
- Night Of The Living Dead (1968)
- Dawn Of The Dead (1978)
- Day Of The Dead (1985)

The Silent Night Deadly Night Gift Boxset
What would be included?
- Silent Night Deadly Night (1984)
- Silent Night Deadly Night Part 2 (1987)
Silent Night Deadly Night 3 Better Watch Out! (1989)
Silent Night Deadly Night 4: Initiation (1990)
Silent Night Deadly Night 5 The Toymaker (1991)

The Howling collection
What would be included?
- The Howling (1981)
- The Howling II: Your Sister Is A Werewolf (1985)
The Howling III (1987)
The Howling IV Original Nightmare (1988)
The Howling V The Rebirth (1989)
The Howling VI The Freaks (1991)
Howling: New Moon Rising (1995)
The Howling Reborn (2011)

The Ted Raimi collection 
What would be included?
- Shocker (1989)
- Intruder (1989)
- Lunatics: A Love Story (1991)
- Candyman (1992)
- Skinner (1993)

Summer Camp Slasher
What would be included?
- The Burning (1981)
- Sleepaway Camp (1983)
- Twisted Nightmare (1987)
- Cheerleader Camp (1988)

Hey, a girl can dream! What are your dream boxsets and which films would be included?!